RHEC Regions

The Regional Health Equity Councils (RHECs) are independent non-government organizations located in each of the 10 US Department of Health and Human Services regions of the country. Each council comprises leaders and stakeholders from both non-federal public and private sectors from within that region. Examples of sectors represented on the RHEC include academia, community based organizations, health systems, health insurers, state legislators, faith-based organizations, foundations, state government organizations, etc.
The RHECs’ primary role is to initiate action to implement the goals of the NPA and therefore, advance the agenda to eliminate health disparities from the grassroots. The RHECs have been established to:
  • Identify key regional health inequity issues and drivers and advance a responsive agenda.
  • Use the collective power of organizations represented on the RHECs to derive models for and promote cross-sector collaboration.
  • Initiate new and support existing regional policies and action to eliminate health disparities.
  • Leverage opportunities available through organizations and sectors represented on the council to address health disparities.
  • Convene regional stakeholders and supporters to address regional health disparities issues.
Each council includes up to 35 members who are leaders in the health professions, business, non-profits, academia, and the public sector and have a commitment to ending health disparities. RHECs typically include one or more of the following subcommittees that are aligned with and strategically address the five goals of the NPA:
  • Awareness subcommittees develop strategies for increasing regional understanding of: the significance of health disparities, the impact of health disparities within the region and nationally; and the actions necessary to improve health outcomes for racial, ethnic, and underserved populations. Additionally, they promote the work of the RHEC within their region, states, and communities.
  • Leadership subcommittees develop strategies to build capacity at all levels of decision-making and broaden leadership for addressing health disparities within the region.
  • Health System subcommittees develop and implement activities that will improve health and healthcare outcomes for racial, ethnic, and underserved populations in the region, through action to address the Social Determinants of Health.
  • Cultural Competency subcommittees develop and implement activities to advance the improvement of cultural and linguistic competency and diversity of the health-related workforce in the region.
  • Data, Research, Evaluation subcommittees improve data availability, coordination, utilization, and diffusion of research and evaluation outcomes as it relates to health disparities and innovative solutions in the region. They coordinate environmental scans for their region, states and communities in an effort to obtain and understand various levels of data.

Region I - New England Regional Health Equity Council
Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont

Region II - 
Region II Health Equity Council
New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands

Region III - Mid-Atlantic RHEC
Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia

Region IV - Southeastern 
Health Equity Council
Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee

Region V - Great Lakes 
Regional Health Equity Council
Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin

Region VI - Southwest RHEC
Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas

Region VII - Heartland 
Regional Health Equity Council
Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska

n VIII - Mountain States Regional Health Equity Council
Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming

Region IX - 
Pacific and Southwest Regional Health Equity Council
Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, and Republic of Palau

Region X - 
Region X Health Equity Council
Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington